The University Library

The Bayreuth University Library is a central institution of the University of Bayreuth and the most important library for general sciences in the region. It's main task is the provision of literature and information for scientistis and for students of the University of Bayreuth.
Furthermore, the University Library offers access to information for the public.

Besides the Main Library, which includes the Humanities Department Library, there are 6 other Department Libraries, each located within their respective faculty buildings: Department Library RW (Law/Business), Department Library NW I (Biology/Chemistry), Department Library NW II (Mathematics/Computer Science/Physics/Applied Natural Sciences), Department Library GEO (Geosciences), Department Library FIMT (Research Institute of Music Theatre) and the additional stack room BayCEER (Dr. Hans-Frisch-Straße, Bayreuth).

The total holdings of the University Library include 1.7 million books and periodical volumes and 3500 current periodicals. In addition, the library has a wide range of electronic media,10,700 licensed online scientific journals (e-journals), 3000 current electronic books (e-books) and about 1600 databases (January 2009).

Its significant special collections includes African Studies, Music Theatre and some important regional history book collections.

Use of the library and loaning books is free of charge, including the general public.

There are further information in the Yearbook of the Bayreuth University Library which is published at the OPUS Bayreuth Dokumentenserver since 2009.