Accessing the Internet in the libraries

Members of the University (Students and staff)

  • Eduroam (on campus)

    Eduroam ("education roaming") allows all members of a university and other participating institutions to access (encrypted) the wireless Internet at their home institution as well as all at participating institutions worldwide.
    Please note: The number of available slots is limited. Please register only with the device you are currently using and log out so that others can access the network.

  • VPN/Proxy (Access from off campus)

    Staff and students can access our licensed contents from outside campus via VPN/Proxy. There are a few exceptions: Amadeus, Beck-online, Beck e-Bibliothek, Juris, Wolters Kluwer Online (JURION) and Zephyr (October 2019).

  • Shibboleth (Access from off campus)

    Shibboleth is an authentication and authorization system for web applications. It allows to use different applications with a single sign-on, both on campus and from outside. The installation of additional software is not required as opposed to access via VPN.

    Select the University of Bayreuth from the list of institutions displayed on publishers' websites. Then log in with your bt identification and the corresponding password.
    The follwoing publishers are currently offering access via Shibboleth: Springer Nature, Wiley.

  • Students who need support setting up any of these access modes can contact the Laptop Service at the IT Service Center.
    By using these services, you acknowledge the IT user guidelines of the University (German) an.

For externals users of Bayreuth University Library

Patrons of the library who are not members of the University can use BayernWLAN. Prior registration is not necessary. Eine vorherige Registrierung ist nicht notwendig. For further details see IT Service Center -> "Access for Guests (@BayernWLAN)".

For legal reasons, access to our licensed electronic media (e-books, e-journals, databases) is only possible on the PCs in the library. A valid library card/campus card is required for logging on to the PCs.

For registered library users computers with internet access are available in all our libraries. See Passwords for the University Library for the log in information.

Internet und WLAN in den Bibliotheken

Für Universitätsangehörige (Studierende und Beschäftigte)

  • Eduroam (am Campus)

    Eduroam ("education roaming") ermöglicht allen Angehörigen einer Hochschule und Mitgliedern teilnehmender Institutionen den drahtlosen Internetzugang (verschlüsselt) einerseits an der Heimatinstitution, andererseits international beim Besuch einer anderen teilnehmenden Institution.
    Bitte beachten Sie: Die Anzahl der verfügbaren Slots ist begrenzt. Melden Sie sich bitte immer nur mit dem Gerät an, das Sie aktuell nutzen. Melden Sie sich auch wieder ab, damit der Zugang für andere frei wird.

  • VPN/Proxy (Zugriff von außerhalb des Campus)

    Universitätsbeschäftigte und Studierende können auch von außerhalb des Campus mit VPN/Proxy auf unsere lizenzierten Angebote zugreifen. Wenige Ausnahmen sind derzeit: Amadeus, Beck-online, Beck e-Bibliothek, Juris, Wolters Kluwer Online (JURION) und ZEPHYR (Stand: Oktober 2019).

  • Shibboleth (Zugriff von außerhalb des Campus)

    Shibboleth ist ein Verfahren zur Authentifizierung und Autorisierung für Webanwendungen. Es ermöglicht mit einer einzigen Anmeldung (Single Sign-On) verschiedene Anwendungen zu nutzen, sowohl am Campus als auch von außerhalb. Die Installation einer zusätzlichen Software ist — im Unterschied zum Zugang per VPN — nicht erforderlich.

    Wählen Sie die Universität Bayreuth aus der Liste der angebotenen Institutionen aus. Anschließend loggen Sie sich mit Ihrer bt-Kennung und dem dazugehörigen Passwort ein.
    Shibboleth ist zur Zeit bei folgenden Verlagen möglich: Springer Nature, Wiley.

  • In der Laptopsprechstunde des IT-Servicezentrums erhalten Studierende Unterstützung bei der Einrichtung aller Zugangsmöglichkeiten.
    Mit der Nutzung erkennen Sie die Benutzungsrichtlinien (IT-Ordnung) der Universität an.

Für externe Nutzerinnen und Nutzer der Universitätsbibliothek Bayreuth

Für Besucherinnen und Besucher der Bibliothek, die keine Universitätsangehörigen sind, steht das freie BayernWLAN zur Verfügung. Eine vorherige Registrierung ist nicht notwendig. Hinweise dazu finden Sie auch beim IT-Servicezentrum -> Menüpunkt "Internetzugang für Gäste (@BayernWLAN)".

Aus lizenzrechtlichen Gründen ist ein Zugriff auf unsere lizenzierten elektronischen Medien (E-Books, E-Journals, Datenbanken) nur an den PCs in der Bibliothek möglich. Für das Einloggen an den PCs ist ein gültiger Bibliotheksausweis/eine Campus-Card erforderlich.

Für registrierte Bibliotheksbenutzerinnen und -benutzer stehen in den Räumen der Universitätsbibliothek PCs mit Internetzugang bereit. Hinweise zur Anmeldung an den PCs finden Sie hier.