Locating media

You want to know, which media we keep, and where you can find them? At first use the UB catalogue for your search. The catalogue informs you about our collections. You see which media are available, borrowed or available online. Furthermore you find out, which books are located in our open stacks and which are kept in our closed stacks and have to be ordered.

You can find an overview of our different locations of the University library in the location list.


Closed stacks

The closed stacks of the UB Bayreuth, are located in the main library, at Geschwister-Scholl-Platz (GSP) and in Thurnau. These collections are borrowable, but not freely available. They are identified with “available for order”.

Books from the stacks have to be ordered via Catalogue. You can pick up the ordered media in your preferred pick-up location within 7 working days. Please note, by transfer in a branch library, your orders will be ready for collection after one working day. Orders from GSP and Thurnau are taking more time. You receive an e-mail, if the media can be picked up.

Please bring your library ID-card twith you to pick-up the books.
Magazin

Open stacks

That means, the books are kept in the reading rooms of the main library or the branch libraries. You can recognize them by the status “"available“. If you log on the Catalogue, you see which media are especially for you borrowable.

Pick up the books, if they are “available”. The exact location of a book can be identified by the shelfmark, which is mentioned in the tab “holdings”. Please write down the shelfmark.

2018-03-07_holdings

You can find an overview of our different locations of the University library in the location list.

Shelfmark and systematical order

All holdings are stocked in systematical order. This means that media with the same or similar topic are located near to each other.
The underlying classification is the RVK. It encrypts subject and topic of a medium.
The shelfmark consists of location, notation, encryption of the author’s name and possible more details (edition, volumes, number of items)

location 107 The location shows the place (branch library, main library, closed stacks) where the item is located.
Locations are listed in the location listv.
notation HD 280 The notation encrypts the content of a medium.
more details A825 Encryption of the author’s name
(2) edition
-2,1 volume count (volume 2, sub-band 1)
+3 Number of items

Please note the shelfmark to find the books in the open stacks.

Online media

Besides printed books, journals, CDs and DVDs you can also find electronic resourses in the Catalogue. This includes e-books, e-journals, databases and articles. University members can access e-books on the campus (eduroam) and off campus via VPN and proxy. For registered extern users is it only possible to use it on our computers in the library.
2018-03-07_e-book

Wo steht was?

Sie wollen wissen, welche Medien wir haben und wo Sie diese finden?

Nutzen Sie als Einstieg immer den UB-Katalog. Er gibt Ihnen Auskunft über unsere Bestände. Sie sehen, was Sie ausleihen können, welche Medien gerade entliehen oder nur online zugänglich sind. Darüber hinaus erfahren Sie, welche Bücher frei zugänglich sind und welche in Magazinen untergebracht sind und bestellt werden müssen.

Einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Standorte der Universitätsbibliothek finden Sie in unserer Standortliste.


Magazinbestand

Die Magazine der UB Bayreuth befinden sich in der Zentralbibliothek, am Geschwister-Scholl-Platz (GSP) und in Thurnau. Diese Bestände sind zwar entleihbar, aber nicht frei zugänglich. Sie sind im UB-Katalog mit „bestellbar“ gekennzeichnet.

Bücher aus dem Magazin müssen Sie über den UB-Katalog bestellen. Sie können Ihre bestellten Medien in der (Teil-)Bibliothek Ihrer Wahl innerhalb von 7 Werktagen abholen. Beachten Sie bitte, dass der Transport Ihrer Bestellungen in eine Teilbibliothek einen Werktag in Anspruch nimmt. Bestellungen aus GSP und Thurnau nehmen mehr Zeit in Anspruch. Sie erhalten eine Benachrichtigung per E-Mail, sobald diese abgeholt werden können.

Bitte bringen Sie zur Abholung Ihren Bibliotheksausweis mit.
Magazin

Freihandbestand

Freihandbestand bedeutet, dass diese Bücher in den Lesesälen der Zentralbibliothek und der Teilbibliotheken stehen. Sie sind im UB-Katalog überwiegend als "ausleihbar“ gekennzeichnet. Welche Medien speziell für Sie entleihbar sind, sehen Sie nur, wenn Sie sich mit Ihrer Bibliothekskennung im UB-Katalog anmelden .

Ist ein Buch ausleihbar, können Sie es selbst aus dem Regal heraussuchen. Den genauen Standort eines Buches in der Bibliothek können Sie anhand der Signatur ermitteln, die Sie im UB-Katalog im Reiter "Exemplare" finden. Notieren Sie sich die Signatur.

Exemplardaten

Einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Standorte finden Sie in unserer Standortliste.

Signatur und systematische Aufstellung

Alle Bestände der UB Bayreuth sind systematisch aufgestellt. Das bedeutet, dass Medien, die die gleiche oder eine verwandte Thematik behandeln, nah beieinander stehen.
Die zugrundeliegende Systematik ist die RVK. Mit dieser werden Fach und Thema eines Mediums verschlüsselt.
Die Signatur besteht aus dem Standort, der Notation, der Verschlüsselung des Verfassernamens und evtl. weiteren Angaben (Auflage, Anzahl, Exemplar).

Standort 107 Der Standort gibt an, an welchem Ort (Teilbibliothek, Zentralbibliothek, Magazin) das Medium aufgestellt ist.
Die Standorte können Sie der Standortliste entnehmen.
Notation HD 280 Die Notation gibt in verschlüsselter Form den Inhalt eines Mediums wieder.
weitere Angaben A825 Verschlüsselung des Verfassernamens
(2) Auflage
-2,1 Bandzählung (Band 2, Teilband 1)
+3 Exemplarzahl

Für das Auffinden der Bücher im Freihandbereich notieren Sie sich bitte die Signatur.

Elektronische Ressourcen

Neben gedruckten Büchern, Zeitschriften, CDs und DVDs finden Sie auch noch elektronische Ressourcen im UB-Katalog. Dazu zählen E-Books, E-Journals, Datenbanken und Aufsätze. Die Nutzung dieser Ressourcen ist für Universitäts-Angehörige auf dem Campus (eduroam) oder mit VPN und Proxy möglich.
Für registrierte externe Benutzer ist die Nutzung dieser Ressourcen nur an den PCs in der Bibliothek möglich.

E-Book