Admission requirements

Bayreuth University Library is one of the central facilities of Bayreuth University. Accordingly it is primarily responsible for providing literature and information to students and academics. The library card allows you to use the entire library system.

The use of the library (admission, lending, etc.) is free of charge. Costs can arise from loan periods not being met, charged orders for articles via interlibrary loan, scan orders, etc. The list of fees shows you what costs may be incurred and how much they may be. Fees incurred are paid via the library card.

The Allgemeine Benützungsordnung der Bayerischen Staatlichen Bibliotheken (ABOB) (general user regulations of the Bavarian State Libraries) and the EDV-Benutzungsregeln (EDP user regulations) of Bayreuth University Library apply to all patrons.

Students

You are automatically admitted for use, the student ID (Campus-Card) is also your library card. Your library user number starts with 0171... and is located on the back of your Campus-Card below the barcode. The default password is your date of birth (in six digits, without dots), e.g. 031083. You can change your password in your User details in the library catalogue.

Please change your address in cmlife. Should you lose your Campus-Card please contact the Student Administration Office.

Students who have exmatriculated can continue to use their library account for three months after the end of the semester. You will then receive a return request, which you must comply with. You can make full use of your current loan periods. New orders, reservations and loans are no longer possible.
If you would like to continue using the library beyond this time, you can have a library card for external users issued, provided you can prove in writing that you are a resident of Upper Franconia (except Bamberg and Forchheim, including their districs) or the northern Upper Palatinate.

Further information can be found under Information for students.

Summer University students can only use the library to a limited extent. Issueing of a library card and thus also orders, reservations, loans and interlibrary loans are not possible. However, you are welcome to consult the media located in the open stacks in the reading rooms.

Employees of Bayreuth University

Scientists, lecturers, doctoral students, but also non-scientific staff are also autmatically admitted for use. For employees, the employee ID (Campus-Card), which you receive from the Central University Administration, is also valid as a library card. Your library user number starts with 017... and is located on the back of your Campus-Card below the barcode. The default password are the last six digits of said user number. You can change your password in your User details in the library catalogue.

In case of change of address or loss, please contact the Central University Administration.

Further information can be found under Information for scientists and lecturers.

Exernal users

Please note the accessibility of the University Library during the Corona pandemic. At present, library cards can only be issued with an appointment. Please book an appointment online: library card appointments Main Library. Please bring all the required documents to the appointment (see below).

However, academically interested persons and students (16 years and older) from Upper Franconia (except Bamberg and Forchheim, including their districts) and the northern Upper Palatinate are also welcome to register as users of Bayreuth University Library. Issueing a library card is possible in the Main Library (more information here: Main Library) as well as the Departmental Library RW (more information here: Departmental Library RW).

Registration must be done in person. We require an official photo ID (identity card or passport wirth registration certificate).
The registration form must be completely filled in for registration. Minors also need the signature and a copy of the ID of their legal guardian. Unfortunately, no library card can be issued without a correctly completed application.

The validity of the library card is usually unlimited and admission is free of charge. A library card is valid for use in the Main Library, as well as all departmental libraries.

In case of change of address or loss, please contact us. A replacement card costs 20 euros. For external users, replacement cards are issued in the Main Library and the Departmental Library RW.

Further information can be found under Information for new library users or under information for teachers and students.

Zulassungsbedingungen

Die Universitätsbibliothek ist eine zentrale Einrichtung der Universität. Primär ist sie dementsprechend für die Literatur- und Informationsversorgung der Studierenden und Wissenschaftler zuständig. Der Bibliotheksausweis erlaubt die Benutzung des gesamten Bibliothekssystems.

Die Nutzung der Bibliothek (Zulassung, Ausleihe usw.) ist kostenlos. Kosten können durch nicht eingehaltene Leihfristen, berechnete Aufsatzbestellungen per Fernleihe, Scan-Aufträge o.ä. entstehen. Über die Gebührenliste erfahren Sie, wofür und in welcher Höhe Kosten anfallen können. Angefallene Gebühren werden über den Bibliotheksausweis bezahlt.

Für alle Benutzer gelten die Allgemeine Benützungsordnung der Bayerischen Staatlichen Bibliotheken (ABOB) sowie die EDV-Benutzungsregeln der UB Bayreuth.

Studierende

Sie werden automatisch zur Benutzung zugelassen, der Studierendenausweis (Campus-Card) ist gleichzeitig auch der Bibliotheksausweis. Die Benutzernummer beginnt mit 0171... und befindet sich auf der Rückseite der Campus-Card unterhalb des Barcodes. Das voreingestellte Passwort ist das Geburtsdatum (sechsstellig), z.B. 031083. Dieses Passwort können Sie in Ihrem Konto im UB-Katalog ändern.

Bei Adressänderungen oder Verlust wenden Sie sich bitte an die Studierendenkanzlei. Im Falle eines Verlusts erhalten Sie dort einen Ersatzausweis mit einer neuen Benutzernummer. Bestehende Ausleihen, Bestellungen usw. werden auf das neue Benutzerkonto umgebucht.

Bei Nutzern, die sich exmatrikuliert haben, ist das Bibliothekskonto nach Semesterende noch drei Monate gültig. Danach erhalten Sie eine Rückgabeaufforderung, der Sie nachkommen müssen. Ihre noch laufenden Leihfristen können Sie ausschöpfen. Neue Bestellungen, Vormerkungen und Ausleihen sind nicht mehr möglich.
Falls Sie die Bibliothek noch weiterhin nutzen möchten, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich einen Ausweis für externe Benutzer ausstellen zu lassen, sofern Sie einen Wohnsitz in Bayreuth und Umgebung einschließlich der nördlichen Oberpfalz nachweisen können.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Hinweise für Studierende.

Für Studierende der Sommeruniversität ist die Nutzung der Bibliothek nur eingeschränkt möglich. Die Ausstellung eines Ausweises und damit auch Bestellungen, Vormerkungen, Ausleihen und Fernleihen sind nicht möglich. Sie dürfen aber gerne die Freihandbestände einsehen.

Beschäftigte der Universität Bayreuth

Wissenschaftler, Lehrende, Doktoranden, aber auch nichtwissenschaftliches Personal werden ebenfalls automatisch zur Benutzung zugelassen. Für Beschäftigte gilt der Bedienstetenausweis (Campus-Card), den Sie von der Zentralen Universitätsverwaltung erhalten, zugleich als Benutzungsausweis für die Bibliothek. Die Benutzernummer befindet sich auf der Rückseite der Campus-Card unterhalb des Barcodes und beginnt mit 017... . Standardmäßig sind die letzten sechs Ziffern der Benutzernummer Ihr Passwort. Dieses Passwort können Sie in Ihrem Konto im UB-Katalog ändern.

Bei Adressänderungen oder Verlust wenden Sie sich bitte an die Zentrale Universitätsverwaltung. Im Falle eines Verlusts erhalten Sie dort einen Ersatzausweis mit einer neuen Benutzernummer. Bestehende Ausleihen, Bestellungen usw. werden auf das neue Benutzerkonto umgebucht.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Hinweise für Wissenschaftler und Dozenten.

Externe Benutzer

Gerne dürfen sich aber auch wissenschaftlich Interessierte und Schüler (ab 16 Jahren) aus Oberfranken (außer Bamberg und Forchheim, inklusive ihrer Landkreise) und der nördlichen Oberpfalz als Nutzer der UB Bayreuth anmelden. Dies ist sowohl in der Zentralbibliothek (Zeiten s. ZB) als auch in der Teilbibliothek RW (Zeiten s. RW) möglich.

Die Anmeldung muss persönlich erfolgen. Wir benötigen dafür einen amtlichen Lichtbildausweis (Personalausweis oder Reisepass mit Meldebescheinigung).
Für die Anmeldung muss das Anmeldeformular ausgefüllt werden. Minderjährige benötigen zusätzlich die Unterschrift und eine Personalausweiskopie des Erziehungsberechtigten. Ohne korrekt ausgefüllten Antrag kann leider kein Benutzerausweis ausgestellt werden.

Die Gültigkeit des Ausweises ist in der Regel unbegrenzt, die Zulassung ist kostenlos. Ein Ausweis gilt für Zentralbibliothek und alle Teilbibliotheken gleichermaßen.

Bei Adressänderungen oder Verlust wenden Sie sich bitte an uns. Ein Ersatzausweis kostet 20 Euro. Für externe Benutzer werden Ersatzausweise in der Zentralbibliothek und in der Teilbibliothek Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften ausgestellt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Hinweise für Erstnutzer oder unter Hinweise für Schüler und Lehrer.