Books & e-books

Are you looking for printed or electronic books? Would you like to borrow respectively access them? You may find one of the following starting points useful. Please refer to our site “Doing your literature search" for tips regarding topical search and finding effective search terms.

Our Library Catalogue provides a uniform interface for searching the collection of Bayreuth University Library (and other libraries). You can collect printed books directly from the shelves* or order them via the Library Catalogue, depending on whether they are in our open access shelves or kept in our closed stacks. Books that are ordered via the Catalogue will be transferred to your preferred pick-up location. Please note, that waiting periods may occur.

E-Books can be recognized by the button “full text” and the note “e-book” in the list of search results. The button links to the text of the e-book. Please report dysfunctional links to us. University members can access e-books on and off campus. The access to Beck online, Juris and JURION from outside campus is not possible due to licensing restrictions.

For accessing digital contents with your electronic devices on campus, set up eduroam; for access from outside campus, install the appropriate VPN und Proxy*.

If the item you are looking for is not available from our collection, you can suggest its purchase or initiate an interlibrary loan.


Bayreuth University Library Catalogue

In the first tab “Catalogues” search results for books, journals, CD-ROMs, DVDs, micro formats, maps and online media like e-books or e-journals are shown. They are available at Bayreuth University Library including all branch libraries. Use the filters on the right side of the search result list to narrow your results according to format, e.g. “Journal”.

Results for journal articles are displayed in the second tab "Articles & more*".

You can find tips for doing your literature search in the integrated help-function of the Catalogue and our website "Doing your literature search".

For further information about the functions of the Catalogue, e.g. how to create a "bookmark-list", please see our site “Borrowing & Ordering”.
Our Library Catalogue allows you to search the online catalogues of other German libraries.

In order to do this and to order items from their collections, use the link “expand search (ILL available)” in the upper right corner of the Catalogue. You can find information about interlibrary loan on this website.

Bücher & E-Books

Sie möchten nach gedruckten Büchern oder E-Books recherchieren und ausleihen? Nutzen Sie dafür die folgenden Sucheinstiege. Tipps zur thematischen Recherche und zur Auswahl der richtigen Suchbegriffe finden Sie auf unserer Seite "Tipps zur Suche".

Mit dem UB-Katalog steht Ihnen ein lokales Bibliotheksportal mit einer einheitlichen Suchoberfläche für die Recherche in den Beständen der UB Bayreuth (und in weiteren Bibliothekskatalogen) zur Verfügung. Gedruckte Bücher können Sie entweder selbst direkt aus dem Regal holen oder über den UB-Katalog bestellen. Unsere Mitarbeiter bringen Ihre Bestellungen dann an den von Ihnen gewählten Ausgabeort. Beachten Sie bitte, dass es dabei zu Wartezeiten kommen kann.

E-Books erkennen Sie in der Ergebnisanzeige am Button "Volltext", der zum Text des E-Books führt, und am Dokumenttyp "Elektronisches Buch". Bitte melden Sie sich bei uns, wenn Sie ungültige Links entdecken. Universitätsangehörige können sowohl vom Campus als auch von außerhalb des Campus auf E-Books zugreifen. Aus lizenzrechtlichen Gründen ist ein Zugriff von außerhalb auf die Portale Beck online, Juris und JURION nicht möglich.

Für den Zugriff am Campus mit eigenen mobilen Geräten muss eduroam eingerichtet sein, der Zugriff von außerhalb des Campus muss über VPN und Proxy erfolgen.

Falls Sie in unserem Bestand nicht fündig werden, können Sie einen Erwerbungsvorschlag machen oder die Fernleihe nutzen.


Der Katalog der UB Bayreuth

Im ersten Reiter "Kataloge" werden die Bücher, Zeitschriftentitel, CD-ROMs, DVDs, Mikroformen, Karten und Online-Medien wie E-Books oder E-Journals angezeigt, die Ihnen in der UB Bayreuth inklusive aller Teilbibliotheken zur Verfügung stehen. Nutzen Sie die Filter der Trefferliste auf der rechten Seite, um auf bestimmte Dokumenttypen, z.B. Zeitschrift, einzuschränken.

Hier werden Ihnen keine Treffer für Aufsätze angezeigt. Diese finden Sie im zweiten Reiter "Aufsätze & mehr".

Hinweise zur Recherche bieten die integrierte Hilfe-Funktion des Katalogs und das Infoblatt "UB-Katalog".

Für weitere Informationen zu den Funktionen des Katalogs wie z.B. dem Anlegen einer "Merkliste" beachten Sie auch unsere Seite "Ausleihen & Bestellen".
Der UB-Katalog ermöglicht darüber hinaus die Recherche in weiteren deutschen Bibliothekskatalogen.

Über den Link "Weitersuche Fernleihmöglichkeit" können die Kataloge von weiteren Bibliotheken durchsucht und deren Bestände über die Fernleihe bestellt werden. Informationen zur Fernleihe finden Sie hier.